Map Preview To Sequence Dialog

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  The Light-O-Rama Software Package > S5 Sequencer >

Map Preview To Sequence Dialog

The "Map Preview To Sequence" dialog can appear in 2 instances:

 

1.If you modify a preview by adding and/or removing props or groups and then open a sequence that uses that preview, or

2.If you assign a different preview to your sequence

 

The dialog shows you what does not match between the items in the sequence and the items in the preview. It also gives you a chance to match up items manually if needed. The dialog features 4 lists. The lists on the left are for items in the sequence. The lists on the right are for items in the preview. Props are shown in the lists on top and groups are shown in the lists on the bottom.

 

The Map Preview To Sequence dialog

The Map Preview To Sequence dialog

 

In the example above, 4 props have been removed from the preview (Bush A, Bush B, Bush C, and Bush D) and replaced with 4 new ones (Bush 01, Bush 02, Bush 03, and Bush 04). The 4 old ones are shown in the list in the upper left, and the 4 new ones are shown in the list in the upper right.

 

 

Scenario 1

 

In this scenario:

Bush 01 is meant as a replacement for Bush A

Bush 02 is meant as a replacement for Bush B

Bush 03 is meant as a replacement for Bush C

Bush 04 is meant as a replacement for Bush D

 

If the user takes no action on this screen and clicks Continue, the 4 props on the left will be archived (sequencing preserved, but can no longer control lights) and the 4 props on the right will be added to the sequence with their channels empty (no sequencing). The user would need to copy the sequencing from each of the 4 archived props and paste it into the new props. At that point, the old props would no longer be needed and the user would have to open the Manage Archived Props screen to delete the 4 old props.

 

By matching the props manually in this dialog, the user can save some time. Manual matching is done by double-clicking on an item in any of the 4 lists and then selecting its match in the drop-down. In the picture below, we have double-clicked on Bush A and matched it to Bush 01. The Archive/Delete setting only matters for items that are unmatched; since we are matching in this case, the setting doesn't matter. After clicking Save, Bush A and Bush 01 are removed from their respective lists because they are now matched (remember the dialog only shows items that don't match).

 

Manual Match dialog

Manual Match dialog

 

After using the same procedure to match Bush B to Bush 02, Bush C to Bush 03, and Bush D to Bush 04, green check marks will appear in the upper 2 boxes - indicating that there are no more items that need matching. The user can then click Continue and the 4 new bushes will replace the 4 old bushes. The sequencing will be preserved and nothing will be archived.

 

 

Scenario 2

 

In this scenario:

The new bushes will have entirely new sequencing.

The old bushes and their sequencing can be discarded.

 

If the user takes no action on this screen and clicks Continue, the 4 old props will be archived and they will need to be deleted using the Manage Archived Props screen.

 

To save a little time, the user can double click on each of the old bushes in the upper left list and change the archive setting to delete. In the picture below, Bush B has been marked for deletion. You would do the same thing for Bush A, Bush C, and Bush D. Clicking the Continue button would then result in Bush 01, Bush 02, Bush 03, and Bush 04 added to the sequence with empty sequencing rows; Bush A, Bush B, Bush C, and Bush D would be removed from the sequence. This may seem like a very small gain in efficiency, but consider what happens when you need to perform this same task on multiple sequences. Using this dialog, you can save your match settings for the first sequence, then you can simply load those settings for the rest of the sequences -- the time savings add up!

 

Bush B has been marked for deletion

Bush B has been marked for deletion

 

 

Auto-Match By Name

 

Pressing this button will automatically match items with the exact same name. Case is ignored, so "My Prop" will match "MY PROP". However, this function will fail to match if an item has an extra space in its name, so "MyProp" will not match "My␣␣Prop".

 

After the auto-match runs, the button will be disabled because there is no use in running this function more than once.

 

 

Auto-Match By Channel

 

Pressing this button will automatically match items with the exact same physical channel settings (device type, network, unit id, and circuit).

 

After the auto-match runs, the button will be disabled because there is no use in running this function more than once.

 

 

Save And Load Match Settings

 

Your show may consist of many sequences that share the same preview. To avoid having to create the same mapping over and over, you can simply save the mapping you create for the first sequence, then load those settings back in as you update subsequent sequences.

 

 

Number Of Motion Effect Rows For New Pixel Props

 

If you have a Pro level license, then you can use motion effects to sequence your props that utilize RGB pixels. You can also have multiple motion effects playing on a prop at the same time. This setting specifies how many motion effect rows should be created for every new pixel-based prop or group (the new items listed on the right-hand side). Typically 1 or 2 is a good choice to start. And then you can add more rows to specific props as your sequencing needs dictate.

 

 

Version Numbers

 

The S5 software maintains a preview version number. The number is incremented by 1 every time the preview is saved. This screen shows the name of the preview and its version number. It also shows the version number of the preview stored with the sequence. You can view the current revision number for any preview on the Preview Design screen.

 

 

Import As New Preview

 

This function is used to import the preview stored in the sequence file as a new preview. The sequence you are opening will then be associated with the imported preview. After pressing the button, the screen will update with the name of the imported preview. The version numbers should then be the same and there should no unmatched props listed. Next, click the Continue button to open the sequence. This action has no effect on other sequences.

 

 

Revert (or Update) Preview

 

This function is used in the rare case where you have made changes to a preview but want to go back to the version stored in the sequence file. Using this function will cause you will lose the most recent changes to the preview, will affect any other sequences associated with that preview.

 

The button will be labeled "Revert" if the version in the sequence file is older. It will be labeled as "Update" if the version in the sequence file is newer.