The File Menu

Top  Previous  Next

The Light-O-Rama Sequence Editor's File menu has menu items related to things like creating, opening, and saving sequences.

 

Several of these menu items operate on the "currently selected sequence".  Many sequences can be open simultaneously in the Sequence Editor, but only one is the currently selected sequence.  It is distinguished by its bright blue title bar (as opposed to the pale blue title bar of unselected sequences).  To select a sequence, simply click on its window.

 

New

Open

Open Recent

Close

Close All Files

Close All Files Except This

Revert to Saved

Save

Save As

Export as Compressed

Export as Protected

Exit

 

FileMenu

The Sequence Editor's File menu

 

New

 

Selecting "New" on the Sequence Editor's File menu opens the New and Open dialog, on its "New Sequence" tab, which gives a choice between creating a new animation sequence or a new musical sequence.

 

"New" has a keyboard hotkey: Ctrl-N.

 

Open

 

Selecting "Open" on the Sequence Editor's File menu opens the New and Open dialog, on its "Existing Sequence" tab, which lets you open an existing sequence using a file browser similar to Windows Explorer.

 

"Open" has a keyboard hotkey: Ctrl-O.

 

Open Recent

 

Selecting "Open Recent" on the Sequence Editor's File menu opens the New and Open dialog, on its "Recent Sequence" tab, which lets you open by selecting it from a list of the most recently opened sequences.

 

"Open Recent" has a keyboard hotkey: Ctrl-R.

 

Close

 

Selecting "Close" from the Sequence Editor's File menu closes the currently selected sequence.

 

If the sequence has unsaved changes, you will be prompted on whether you wish to save the changes or not; if the sequence has never been saved before, and you choose to save it, you will also be prompted to select a filename for the new sequence.

 

Close All Files

 

Selecting "Close All Files" from the Sequence Editor's File menu closes all open sequences.

 

If any of the sequences have unsaved changes, you will be prompted on whether you wish to save them or not; if any of the sequences have never been saved before, and you choose to save them, you will also be prompted to select filenames for the new sequences.

 

Close All Files Except This

 

Selecting "Close All Files Except This" from the Sequence Editor's File menu closes all open sequences except the currently selected sequence.

 

If any of the the sequences being closed have unsaved changes, you will be prompted on whether you wish to save the changes or not; if a sequence being closed has never been saved before, and you choose to save it, you will also be prompted to select a filename for the new sequence.

 

Revert to Saved

 

Selecting "Revert to Saved" from the Sequence Editor's File menu reloads the currently selected sequence from its last save.  Any changes made to the sequence since the last save will be lost.

 

Save

 

Selecting "Save" from the Sequence Editor's File menu saves the changes that you have made to the currently  selected sequence.  If the sequence was newly created and has never been saved before, Save will also prompt you for a filename to use for the new sequence.

 

Save has a keyboard hotkey: Ctrl-S.

 

Save As

 

Selecting "Save As" from the Sequence Editor's File menu saves the current sequence to a new filename.  The old file will still exist, but will not include any of the changes that you made to the sequence since the last time that you saved it.

 

Export as Compressed

 

Selecting "Export as Compressed" from the Sequence Editor's File menu can be used to manually create a compressed sequence based upon the current sequence.  By default, the Sequence Editor automatically creates a compressed sequence for a sequence whenever it saves the sequence, so this function is not normally necessary, but the automatic creation can be disabled (via Export Compressed in the Saving Preferences menu), so this becomes useful if you have turned that behavior off.  Please also see the Sequence Compressor program, which can be used to compress all sequences in a show, or in the entire schedule.

 

Export as Protected

 

Selecting "Export as Protected" from the Sequence Editor's File menu can be used to create a protected sequence based upon the current sequence.

 

Exit

 

Selecting "Exit" from the Sequence Editor's File menu closes the Sequence Editor.  If any currently open sequences have changes that have not yet been saved, you will be prompted for whether or not you want to save them.